Cooking with Yucca

Here are two ways to use black yucca seeds in your not-so-survivalist cooking.  First, I gently toasted the seeds in a dry frying pan on the stove. Then I sprinkled some on a salad, seen below.  The next day I got a wild hare (hair? ) and ground them up as a coffee substitute.  I confess I did add a little real coffee as well.  The result was great.  Tasted like toasty coffee! Ok, friends and neighbors, please send me more suggestions for cooking with yucca or other native plants and uses for sotol!

5 thoughts on “Cooking with Yucca

    • You have to go find a yucca with green fruit pods on the stalk. Next time you see one, stop and pick some!

      • After reading your blog, I think, “Of course she can write this book!” So glad to be in touch again!

  1. I got some dandelion greens at the farmers’ market today. Going to see what I can do with them. If you’ve got any ideas, let me know.

Leave a Reply

